Long Time No See

Oh!

Well hello there

It seems I’ve had a lapse in judgement and forgotten I even had a blog. But enough of that.

Let’s give those of you who dont know, and update on my life:
1. I’ve FINALLY graduated with a Bachelors of Arts from MSU 🙂
2. Im MARRIED.
3. I now work full time as a receptionist. Its weird to have a real job.
4. I might start another blog about adjusting to living in the city. Cause its just weird.
5. Brown dog has no idea any of these things are going on. All he knows is that I pretty much abandon him from 7:15am-5:00pm. Poor guy. 

On to the real blog:

Monsters Inc, and why you should be more like Boo.

I know that Monsters Inc was released 10 years ago (or something like that), but now Disney/Pixar is re-releasing it in 3D (WHOA) before Monsters Inc 2 comes out.

Anyways, it got me thinking about why I even liked Monsters in the first place. It has all the qualities of a good kids movie; monsters under the bed, kids, kids being toxic to monsters (Or ARE they..), and standing up to bullies. Although Monsters is definitely not my favorite Pixar movie, that award goes to Ratatouille, it definitely has more to digest than what’s seen on the surface.

This movie brings to life fears within the child in all of us: Monsters under the bed, waiting to scare you. (Or probably eat you) I know most grown-ups understand that there aren’t really monsters under the bed, but, the metaphorical ones definitely are. (I am not a grown-up, I  check under my bed for the monster that is usually my cat)
It doesnt matter what your fears are, bills, job, love, cats-that-attack-your-feet-when-you-step-out-of-bed. They’re illustrated through the theme of monsters throughout cinema, not just Monsters Inc. We see it in Frankenstein, Lord of the Rings, The Amazing Spider-Man, The Avengers. A lot of cinema is beating the monsters.

And that’s where Boo comes in:

Boo isn’t afraid of Sully, the biggest, baddest monster who works at Monsters Inc. He’s the number one scarer (I think thats what they call him), and Boo calls him “Kitty”. Talk about a blow to your ego.
Boo’s only fear is of the monster Randall, who scares her room at night. He can change color, and blend in with the walls, and he looks pretty weird too:

See? Weird
Anyways, Boo is always terrified of him. Until he tried to beat up Sully. Suddenly, Boo isn’t afraid of her own monster. She beats the snot out of him with a baseball bat because he hurt her “kitty”.
I’m not saying that we should beat people with baseball bats (obviously this only works in animation), what I am saying is that maybe our fears aren’t as big as we think they are. The things that scare us, we amplify in our brains to make them something untouchable. The make them something so big, and scary, we couldn’t possibly stand a chance.
Which is why we should be more like Boo. She overcomes her fears, even beats the crap out of one. Unfortunately I cant beat the crap out of my student loans (my current biggest fear), but I am starting to understand that there are bigger things in this world. While I do worry about the future sometimes, I should rather just focus on the present. The future can work itself out.

Peace, Love, and Kitties

-C

P.S. Brown dog isn’t really afraid of anything. Except the tile floor in the kitchen.

About blondehairbrowndog

C is a recent graduate of Michigan State University (Go Green!) with a bachelors degree in English. She currently resides in the Mitten state with her Mister, three dogs, and one and a half cats. She enjoys large cups of coffee, running, and long walks in the woods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

