Body Image.

  This is a topic that has been weighing (ha) on my mind lately. All these threads of women empowerment, and being comfortable in your own skin, fitting in a bikini, blah blah blah.
(note, there might be some swearing in this, ok Mom?)
  As long as you’re healthy, and not using food, or lack thereof, to be someone you’re not, who gives a shit what your size is?
  You know who cares? The fashion industry, well some of it, the media, even my beloved cinema. We’re all taking part in making it harder for women, and men, to feel comfortable in their own skin. I mean, THIGH GAP? Are you for real? You might as well say “Eating disorders are so cool now, you should totally try one”
  I myself am not immune to these ridiculous thigh-gap notions of society. I seriously looked at myself in my underoos the other day and went oh hey, I think that’s a little thigh gap.  And then I was immensely disgusted with myself. Why in the world would I want to look like a Barbie doll? I’m not plastic, I’m a real person. Then I ate a cookie, to make sure I wouldn’t have a thigh gap in the morning.
  We’ve made “beauty” unattainable for the Average Jane. Your “size” defines “you”.
  I don’t know about the rest of the ladies out there, but the last thing I want to be remembered for, is being  pretty.
  How trivial.
  Oh that girl was really pretty. She was really PRETTY.
  I would rather it be: She wrote a fantastic book. Or: She saved a lot of animals. Or: She made the world a better place. Or: She was the sassiest person I’ve ever met.
I would be ok with either of those. But just pretty? No thank you. 
 
  I’m not Mother Teresa, and I never will be. Mostly because I don’t aspire to be anyone but myself. Why would I? Everyone else has already proven that they are the best person they can be. So that makes it my job to be the best me I can ever be. And that’s scary. Because we want to take the safer path. We’re programmed to take the road more traveled. We’d rather be like other people, because being yourself is scary. 
 
I’ll leave you with this:
 
Eat good things. Laugh at stupid jokes. Surround yourself with people who think you’re awesome.
You’ll feel beautiful. You’ll look beautiful. Because you ARE.
Whoever says otherwise is selling something.
 
Peace, Love, and Cookies,
 
-C
 
P.S. Brown dog thinks eating is great. He aspires to be fat.

 

About blondehairbrowndog

C is a recent graduate of Michigan State University (Go Green!) with a bachelors degree in English. She currently resides in the Mitten state with her Mister, three dogs, and one and a half cats. She enjoys large cups of coffee, running, and long walks in the woods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

