Life, Death, and the pursuit of Puppies.

A terrible awful thing happened today. But a terribly wonderful thing happened today too. So I’ll just write, and maybe my heart won’t hurt as much.

Today I witnessed the birth of 6 puppies, the death of four, and the life of two.

The first puppy that came out was stillborn, and my hear sank all the way to the floor.

The next five came out in a blur, all I really know is that three puppies kept getting passed back and forth between people trying to catch a glimpse of life.

I held this small body in my hands, breathing into its mouth, rubbing its sides.

I worked relentlessly on this body that refused to live.

It became apparent that I could not project my will of life into this small body that I held in my hands.

I tried.

I touched the pale gums inside this small body, searching for hope.

To no avail.

But I cannot mourn the loss of the four when I must rejoice in the life of the two.

And be thankful for the gift that their mother has given me, and rejoice in her life as well.

Nature really sucks sometimes.

About blondehairbrowndog

C is a recent graduate of Michigan State University (Go Green!) with a bachelors degree in English. She currently resides in the Mitten state with her Mister, three dogs, and one and a half cats. She enjoys large cups of coffee, running, and long walks in the woods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

