So when are you going to have children? Why aren’t you pregnant yet?

These are things you are NOT allowed to ask. Period.

The decision on whether to have children, and when to have children is the decision of the couple involved. Not yours.

You may think you’re just trying to make conversation, but really its a very personal question. And its not something that I personally want to discuss with anyone other than my permanent roommate.

For all you know, we’ve been trying to have children for a year, and cant.

For all you know, I’ve had a miscarriage.

For all you know we’re have fertility issues.

Either way. This is a huge discussion that you are not privy to. The decision to bring a child into the world is life changing. It is a decision that only involves me, and my husband. (Even my mother knows not to ask)

Here’s the thing, and it may come as a surprise, but there are a lot of things I want to do with my life before I bring a child into this world. The last thing I would ever want to do is be bitter about having children too early. I want to write things, I want to travel, I want to do many things that currently do not involve having a small human following me around.

To put it bluntly: If you are not involved with the making of the baby, you are not allowed to ask about when the baby is going to be made.

Peace, Love, and Sunshine,

-C

About blondehairbrowndog

C is a recent graduate of Michigan State University (Go Green!) with a bachelors degree in English. She currently resides in the Mitten state with her Mister, three dogs, and one and a half cats. She enjoys large cups of coffee, running, and long walks in the woods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

