Market Musings

Now is the winter of our discontent. Except, it’s 35 degrees out, and doesn’t feel like winter at all. It’s almost spring-like. Winpring? Spinter? Whatever.

It’s sometime around 11:15, and I’m sitting in the Downtown Grand Rapids Market contemplating life. As one does after reading a bit of “Mere Christianity”.

I mostly feel like I’m floating in some weird amoeba of space. Almost as if I’m still waiting for the punch-line of one long, really terrible joke.  As I sit, watching the cars come and go, women with expensive designer handbags, and look at over-priced vegetables; I consider who I am, and what I could become.

Chris Pratt recently posted on Instagram what he had to do to get where he is now. It had a lot to do with hard work, and eating some sardines. He said, never to give up. Easy for him to say, right? He’s already there. But, when people tell you, you can’t have it all, well, why not? I mean really. Why couldn’t I become a best-selling author/farmer/coffee house owner?

If someone tells you that your dreams are too big, maybe theirs are just too small.

I remember when I broke the news to my parents, that I was dropping my secondary Education degree, and going straight English, no chaser. They were supportive, of course, because that’s what parents do. I remember the rest of my family being a bit more skeptical. giving me those funny “Uh, ok” looks afterwards. The only person who wasn’t, was Grandpa Jack.

My Grandpa Jack had been a journalist for the Detroit Free Press, reviewing movies and other pieces, and went on to edit multiple trucking magazines. He was one of the first people in Michigan to see Casablanca (he watched it in a special room in the basement of Detroit’s Fox Theater). And although he lived in Ohio, he was a Detroit Tigers baseball fan. His writing style was unique, his characters colorful, and his prose wonderful.

I’m telling you this because no matter how many people say your dreams are too big, there will always be one person who tells you to be bigger.

 

You don’t have to change the whole world. But you can certainly effect the corner you live in.

You don’t have to be content with the American Dream.

Peace, Love, Tacos,

-C

P.S. Brown dog only dreams of big juicy beef bones.

About blondehairbrowndog

C is a recent graduate of Michigan State University (Go Green!) with a bachelors degree in English. She currently resides in the Mitten state with her Mister, three dogs, and one and a half cats. She enjoys large cups of coffee, running, and long walks in the woods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

