Dear Carrie

Dear Carrie,

You’re dead now. And you won’t read this. But that’s ok. I guess. I had most desperately hoped that I would meet you one day. That we would even laugh about something together. And that maybe, just maybe, I wouldn’t make a complete fool of myself in front of you.  Maybe you’d tell me you liked something I wrote. And then I would be unable to speak for three days. I’ll keep this short.

Thank you.

I don’t remember the first Disney movie I watched. I don’t remember which princess I saw first. What I do remember, is Princess Leia. I remember watching A New Hope for the first time when I was, oh, seven maybe? Leia enters the scene, hood up, blaster drawn. She shoots first, she’s still captured, but she shoots first. Leia didn’t have time for any Imperial garbage. She was going to save the galaxy. Not her town, not her boyfriend, the galaxy.  A princess who doesn’t need saving? A princess who is perfectly capable of kicking ass on her own? That was huge tome.

Growing up, I didn’t exactly fit in with the “in” crowd, because, let’s be real, I totally did not. I read science fiction, I didn’t understand make-up (still don’t), and could quote Star Wars with minimal (or no) prompting. To top it all off, I was in band, choir, FFA and watched Doctor Who (before the reboot). It was like I wanted the popular kids to hate me.  But, it didn’t really bother me that much. I had friends who were/are just as weird as me, and if Leia could save the galaxy, I could get through high school.

Princess Leia was more than just a character to me. She was my idol. My heroine. She was my invisible friend. I carried the great P.L.’s bad-assery wherever I went. I related to your Princess Leia so hard. She was fierce. She was a force. She wasn’t like any other princess I had ever seen. Leia/you influenced me in more ways than I thought possible:

  1. Be the hero(ine).
  2. Sarcasm is key.
  3. Prince Charming is overrated. Scruffy-looking nerf herders on the other hand…
  4. To hell with your stereotypes. To hell with them.
  5. Don’t apologize for who you are or what you love.
  6. Write honestly.
  7. Some days feel like you’re chained at the feet of a giant worm. Maybe you are. You’ll get through it. You’ll kill the worm. Just don’t do cocaine.
  8. You’re gonna make mistakes. Sometimes, you’ll walk into a trap, but don’t stop fighting.
  9. “I don’t want life to imitate art. I want life to be art.”
  10. “Stay afraid, but do it anyways. What’s important is the action. You don’t have to wait to be confident. Just do it and eventually the confidence will follow”

And one more thing:

Be the General. Lead the Rebellion.

Carrie Fisher:

“Drowned in the Moonlight, strangled by her own bra”

 

I’ll look for you at the dog park in Heaven.

 

-C

About blondehairbrowndog

C is a recent graduate of Michigan State University (Go Green!) with a bachelors degree in English. She currently resides in the Mitten state with her Mister, three dogs, and one and a half cats. She enjoys large cups of coffee, running, and long walks in the woods.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

